Motivational Digest Week Ending 20 April 2013

Welcome! This is my hand-picked selection of the week’s best articles, blogs, and other motivational, inspirational or otherwise interesting content. Also included are the quotations and images I’ve used on various social media sites this week, as well as my favorite images and quotations from others.

If you share the content here, I’d very much appreciate a share to the page as a whole, or at least a mention of goalshappenhere.com.

The links are set to open in new browser windows, so you can click freely and not lose this page.

To join my mailing and get things no one else does, please complete this form:

Motivational Digest Week Ending 20 April 2013 (Pacific Time):

The Seven Problems of Working at Home  http://allincareer.com/?p=1273

What Great Entrepreneurs Believe:  http://www.inc.com/steve-tobak/what-great-entrepreneurs-believe.html

Can Praise Be Bad As Well As Good? http://www.potentialmatters.co.uk/blog/can-praise-be-bad-as-well-as-good

Magical Thinking (Using cards to enhance creativity): http://www.realitysandwich.com/magical_thinking_its_cards

10 Questions to Ask Before Determining Your Target Market:  http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/226360

The Entrepreneur Roller Coaster:  http://video.success.com/inspirational/entrepreneur-roller-coaster/

Hidden Problems that Chase Away Clients:  http://purplepeacockconnection.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/hidden-problems-that-chase-away-clients/

5 Tips to Ease Difficult Conversations:  http://managerialmayhem.com/face-it-5-tips-to-ease-difficult-conversations/

Four Levels of Mental Energy:  http://www.positivelypositive.com/2013/04/13/four-levels-of-mental-energy/

End the Struggle: 5 Ways to Get in Touch with Your Intuition:  http://www.peoplediscovery.co.uk/2013/04/17/end-the-struggle-5-ways-to-get-in-touch-with-your-intuition/

Human Success Network Newsletter:  http://eepurl.com/w_dyL

Ways to Stop Fighting Your To-do List:  http://sheownsit.com/ways-stop-fighting-your-do-list-by-chelleshock

You’re Probably Wrong about How Others See You:  http://blogs.hbr.org/cs/2013/04/youre_probably_wrong_about_how_others_really_see_you.html

5 Ways Mindfulness Improves Leadership:  http://www.siyli.org/5-ways-mindfulness-improve-leadership

5 Books to Motivate You:  http://www.nycreativeinterns.com/2013/04/04/five-books-to-motivate-you

7 Traits That Distinguish Super Successful People From Ordinary Ones:  http://www.inc.com/lewis-schiff/super-successful-wealth-building-traits.html

Seed of Humor:  http://www.soulseeds.com/fb-inspiration/2013/03/seed-of-humor

Habits of Super Positive People:  http://www.marcandangel.com/2012/10/22/9-habits-of-super-positive-people/

Small Companies, Big Hearts: Leading Social Entrepreneurs:  http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/226437

7 Words Successful People Live By:  http://www.businessnewsdaily.com/4367-7-words-successful-people-live-by.html

Quotations, Images, etc. Week Ending 20 April 2013:

Here is a test to find whether your mission on earth is finished: If you’re alive it isn’t. – Richard Bach

Never let anyone squash your dreams. – Meg Bertini

When you spot violence, or bigotry, or intolerance or fear or just garden-variety misogyny, hatred or ignorance, just look it in the eye and think, ‘The good outnumber you, and we always will.’ – Patton Oswalt via Kyle Van Son

Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors where there were only walls. – Joseph Campbell

Success is a series of decisions, small and big. – Meg Bertini

Contrary to popular thinking, being worthy isn’t something you earn, it’s something you recognize. – Mike Dooley

We may not know how to forgive, and we may not want to forgive; but the very fact we say we are willing to forgive begins the healing practice. – Louise Hay

FORGIVE THEM ANYWAY
People are often unreasonable, illogical, and self-centered; Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives; Be kind anyway.
If you are successful you will win some false friends and true enemies; Succeed anyway.
If you are honest and frank, people may cheat you; Be honest and frank anyway.
What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight; Build anyway.
If you find serenity and happiness, they may be jealous; Be happy anyway.
The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow; Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough; Give the world the best you’ve got anyway.
You see, in the final analysis, it is between you and God;
It was never between you and them anyway.
– Mother Teresa (via Positive Connections to the World)

He that is of the opinion money will do everything may well be suspected of doing everything for money.  – Benjamin Franklin

We can literally mine even our worst errors for the treasures they contain.  – Hal Zina Bennett

via The Manager’s Diary

via Global Love Project

viaTheMindUnleashed

via The Mind Unleashed

I’m not sure who created this, but I love it!

GoalsHappenHere Articles Week Ending 20 April 2013:

Favorite Personal and Business Development Resources:  Several of you have asked, so here are a few things that have helped me both personally and professionally. My personal growth and my business growth are very much intertwined: The better I know myself, the better I seem to be at everything I do.  The list is by no means all-inclusive, and I make no guarantees that what worked for me will resonate with you, let alone be effective for you.

With those disclaimers finished, please go here for the complete list and video.


The Survival Guide: How to Deal With Difficult People: We recently talked about dealing with difficult people at work, but unfortunately we run into difficult folks in other places, too. Want to cope with them better? Here are a few suggestions:

Figure out why you think they’re difficult. Often the people who annoy us most have the most to teach us and act like a mirror for us to learn from. Is there something for you to recognize in yourself that is making this person so irritating to you?

(go here for the complete article and video)

Motivational Digest Week Ending 13 April 2013


Leave a Reply